Congratulations to the recipients of Graeme Clark and Anders Tjellström scholarships

The eight winners of Cochlear’s prestigious scholarships have been honored on February 19 at Cochlear Celebration, the biggest event dedicated to recipients from across the U.S. and Canada.2017scholarshipwinners_400

The 15th annual Graeme Clark and the sixth annual Anders Tjellström scholarships recognize values like leadership, humanity and academic achievement in students who are Cochlear™ Nucleus® Implant and Baha® System recipients. Each of the eight students will receive $2,000 per year for up to four years at an accredited college or university, for a total of $8,000 per student. Since 2002, Cochlear has awarded $568,000 to 80 college students.

The scholarships are named after Graeme Clark, the pioneer of the multichannel cochlea implant, and Anders Tjellström, surgeon and the founding father of the Baha treatment. The Graeme Clark scholarship is an award open to Nucleus Cochlear Implant recipients around the world. The Anders Tjellström Scholarship is an award open to Baha system recipients in the United States and Canada.

“I have become a much more outgoing and confident person because of the Baha System. It has inspired and motivated me to strive for success,” said Moran, a Baha System recipient and an Anders Tjellström Scholarship winner. “My success will be becoming an audiologist and helping others hear the world.”

The 2017 Graeme Clark Scholarship has been awarded to:

  • Victoria Popov (Rochester Institute of Technology) from Del Mar, California
  • Shani Summers (Brigham Young University) from Kailua, Hawaii
  • Jessica Hill (University of Alabama at Birmingham) from Madison, Alabama
  • Mary Jane Rogers (University of Missouri) from Olivette, Missouri
  • Miriam Almanza (University of the Incarnate Word) from Mercedes, Texas

The 2017 Anders Tjellström Scholarship goes to:

  • Abigail Rose Brewer (Liberty University) from Goode, Virginia
  • Caroline Moran (Nova Southeastern University) from Alderson, West Virginia
  • Johanna H. Urbach (Western Washington University) from Fairfield, California

For more information about the scholarships, visit